Croquette

May 21st, Monday:

  • Miso Soup (Carrot, Cabbage, Wakame Seaweed)
  • Fried and Simmered Bean Curd and Cut Konnyaku (Pork, Konnyaku, Bean Curd, Shiitake Mushroom)
  • Root Vegetable Croquette
  • Rice
  • Milk

I remember my first introduction to croquette (or korokke). I was in high school, building a virtual bento box. Virtual mash potatoes breaded and fried and then tucked into an adorable virtual bento box was of course delightful, and from that day on, I wanted to eat a real one. Three years later, my dream was fulfilled when I moved to a dormitory down the street from the Curry House and I could eat all the Corn Croquette and Curry that I desired. Which, I imagine, is why I gained 7 kilos. Apparently, the actual French croquette often has meat in it and is differently shaped, but reading about it, I feel certain the Japanese croquette tastes better. Besides, I am willing to wager most Americans as least are more familiar with the Japanese korokke than they are the French croquette. All that being said, croquette in general are rather oily, am I might have to opt for my mother’s non-fat mashed potato patties over French and Japanese.
As a side note, today’s lunch conversation ranged from duck races to lunch napkins to forgetting of old acquaintances’ faces to the accumulation of fabric that never gets sewn into it’s intended clothing.


About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

