Sugar Simmered Sardine!

May 30th, Wednesday:

  • Scallop Soup (Scallop, Tofu, Chinese Cabbage, Burdock)
  • Chinese-style Meat and Potatoes (Potato, Pork, Onion, Shimeji Mushroom, Konnyaku)
  • Sugar Simmered Sardine
  • Rice
  • Milk

As usual, the soup was delicious. I really adore soup. In fact, if I could take all my nutritional input in liquid form, I probably couldn’t be happier.  On the other hand, I am not a fan of sardines. Heian women used to blacken their teeth because the bone like quality of teeth was considered repulsive. I want to say that contact with bone was even one of the major tsumi (sins) listed in the Kojiki. The ancient Japanese knew what they were talking about. Bones are exceedingly repulsive. The time I want to come deal with bones is when summoning monsters from the abyss during unholy rites. Thus sardines, being filled with tons of irremovable tiny bones and lacking in monstrous qualities, are fish I cannot enjoy eating.

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

