Vegetable Curry Rice

June 6th, Wednesday:

  • Vegetable Curry Rice (Potato, Eggplant, Carrot, Onion, Green Bean)
  • Milk
  • Mixed Fruit Jello (Block Jelly, Pineapple, Mandarin Orange, Jello, Nata de coco)
  • Spinach Omelet

Nata de coco is made from solidified coconut milk and is a traditional food of the Philippines. By sight, it resembles kanten gelatin, but you can easily tell it’s not by the characteristic gummy texture.

Although my beloved hometown is in the tropics and coconuts were bounteous throughout my childhood, I ate nata de coco for the first time in Japan. From what I understand, it first become very popular in Japan, and nowhere else, in 1993. Today, it is no longer a fad, but has an established placed as a dessert in Japan. Nata de coco is really quite delicious and I enjoy the texture, although I could see how some people might not. It seems to be made by fermenting the coconut milk. The name comes from Spanish, meaning “cream of Coconut”.

While, I didn’t eat nata de coco as a child, I did eat my fair share of coconut pudding. They don’t resemble each other in texture at all, but they are both desserts made from coconut, so I think it counts. Coconut pudding, which is made from coconut milk, water, and sugar and thickened with starch, is far better than it’s milk-based sister for two reasons. One is that it doesn’t leave that gross residue that milk-based products do in your mouth, and the other is of course that lactose intolerant people can eat it.

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

