Miso Soup

June 18th, Monday:

  • Miso Soup (Carrot, Chinese Cabbage, Burdock)
  • Simmered Sweet Potato and Chopped Konbu Seaweed (Hijiki Surimi, Sweet Potato, Konbu, Konnyaku)
  • Teriyaki Simmered Mackerel
  • Rice
  • Milk

The miso used in school lunch is made from only daizu, rice yeast, and salt from Hokkaido, without any additives. We use pure water that pours from springs in the mountains. Our miso is safe and without bitterness.

Today was an open English class, so I ate lunch at home. That means that, as usual, I ate furikake rice and a daifuku, followed by soy milk. But actually today was a little special in that I ate a hard boiled egg too. Since I didn’t eat school lunch, I couldn’t take a picture of it. I am sorry.
It was interesting to read the above about miso (the part in italics is always translated from the school lunch menu, BTW) and I highly approve. I can’t really be a very good judge, because I didn’t really eat miso much as a child, but I would say that I quite like the miso soup in school lunch (assuming it is still hot).

  • みそ汁
  • さつま芋と切り昆布の煮物
  • さばの照り煮
  • ごはん
  • 牛乳
About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

