Pork Kimchi on Rice

July 18th, Wednesday:

  • Pork Kimchi on Rice (Pork, Egg, Chinese Cabbage, Carrot, Green Onion, Sesame)
  • Milk
  • Miso Soup (Daikon Radish, Tofu, Green Onion)
  • Salt Grilled Rockfish

Today in our lunch han, we made an informal poll of whether one likes meat or fish better. Of the three girls and two boys, everyone said “meat” except for one boy. One of the girls said she didn’t like fish because of the bones. As I’ve mentioned my extraordinary dislike for eating bones previously, I am sure you already know I have much sympathy for that dislike. However, I still said I preferred fish. In Japan, meat is usually sold already cleanly cut up in pieces and deboned, but fish is sold whole often with head and tail still attached. But I remember as a child watching my mother stick her hand up inside the chicken and pull out its guts while preparing it for dinner. And that’s chicken. We didn’t eat red meat at home, but if had, I am sure it’s preparation would have been even grosser. So my student might feel meat is cleaner and easier to eat than fish, but it’s not, at least in America.

  • 豚キムチ丼
  • 牛乳
  • みそ汁
  • メバル塩焼き
About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

