Bibimbap

August 22nd, Wednesday:

  • Bibimbap Rice Bowl (Pork, Egg, Bean Sprout, Carrot, Japanese Parsley, Osmond Fern, Spinach)
  • Milk
  • Miso Soup (Plum Gluten, Tamogi Mushroom, Trefoil)
  • Cabbage Dumplings
  • Kcal: 919

Bibimbap Rice Bowl uses soybean sprouts. Some types of beansprouts include black mappe sprouts, soybean sprouts, and mung bean sprouts.

The second trimester of school has started again and I got to eat school lunch again after a long while.  My diet at home, as I have mentioned, consists almost entirely of white rice and soymilk. While such a mild diet prevents stomach pain and makes me happy, it is somewhat lacking in vitamins. So the bibimbap–with its multitude of interesting vegetables–and miso soup–with the distinct flavour of trefoil and its soft mushrooms–were a much needed repast.

School resumed on Monday, but I hadn’t any class because I had the fortune to present at a certain meeting for foreign teachers. It was held at the lovely Akarenga, built the twenty-first year of Meiji and more formally called the 北海道庁旧本庁舎. The Akarenga is built, as its name implies, of red brick, and in an American new baroque fashion. Baroque has a connotation of overwhelming decadence, but that is not the feeling the Akarenga displays. She is elegant, but simple. She was built beautifully, but only for the purpose of encouraging good and pure thoughts in men endeavoring to shape the future for the better. Abiding in such a charming building, especially for such a short time, truly reminds me how sad and lifeless modern architecture is.

Unrelatedly, while I generally considered myself a rather unfashionable person, I received so many compliments on my charming clothing during my stay there, I am beginning to think I ought to be more arrogant.

Photographs fails to capture the subtle splendour of such a building like this.

ビビンバ丼
牛乳
みそ汁
キャベツ餃子

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

