Spaghetti Napolitan

August 28th, Tuesday:

  • Brown Stew (Pork, Potato, Onion, Carrot, Red Bell Pepper)
  • Spaghetti Napolitan (Fish Sausage, Onion, Bell Pepper, Spaghetti)
  • Pork Patty
  • Side Sliced Bread
  • Milk
  • kcal: 953

When asked about the cultivation of Furano onions, it appears they do not lack for watering through sprinklers. The raising of onions is connected to the weather of the Furano basin.

Tuesday is “foreign foods” day, so all the dishes are in a foreign (usually western) style, like today often written all in katakana, the script often used to indicate a word of foreign origin (cf. below). Brown stew I am familiar with and pork patty (lit. pork hamburg) was a staple in the school lunches of my youth. Spaghetti Napolitan I assumed was some sort of Italian\European dish but upon looking it up, I was wrong. Instead, Spaghetti Napolitan seems to be American. Namely, it is a Nipponized version of military rations circa Occupied Japan. Thinking more about it, this makes sense. Spaghetti Napolitan tastes rather like military rations circa WWII. Yum, Yum?

Speaking of military rations, when I was child I lived for a short time in a refugee camp. We ate military rations everyday. For breakfast and dinner they set up portable stoves inside a tent and cooked these giant tins of food. The one I recall the most was a sort of egg and meat casserole, but I also remember applesauce. I am a fan of applesauce. Everyone would line up with plates and then soldiers would dish out what we wanted. The bad part was we then had to walk to the eating tent. The eating tent was only short distance away but there was a constant wind blowing up dust which quickly coated all the food on your plate. As a kid I didn’t mind so much, but I think it was difficult for some of the adults. For lunch we had MREs, that is Meals-Ready-to-Eat. My favourite was the pound cake. One soldier kindly shared the recipe that if you mix the cheese spread with the cherry juice mix and put it on the pound cake, it tastes like cherry cheese cake. I never managed to refrain from devour the separate ingredients before collecting them all though.

I ate these as a child. Fond memories.

ブラウンシチュー
スパゲッティナポリタン
ポークハンバーグ
横切りパン
牛乳

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

