Breaded Pork Fillet

September 11th, Tuesday:

  • Pot-Au-Feu (Pork, Potato, Cabbage, Green Bean, Carrot)
  • Creamy Tuna Spaghetti (Spaghetti, Onion, Parsley)
  • Breaded Pork Fillet
  • Brown Sugar Bread
  • Milk
  • Kcal: 782

Meat fillet is a low fat, smooth and fleshy meat.  It is a light tasting meat with very few vices. Because each animal only has little bit of fillet meat, it is expensive.

While I think I personally prefer a milder bread, it seems today’s sweet brown sugar bread was more popular than usual with my students. One of my first years today kindly informed me “This is パン. Good!”, so I know that she liked it. As for the pork fillet, I am afraid I simply do not like meat, although I did my best and ate it anyways. However, it reminded me of a conversation I had with my friends last night in which they stated pork was very common in Hokkaido but beef was often eaten in Honshu. My friends–all from the Northern Country–were of the opinion that pork was certainly delicious enough, one hardly even needed beef. This in mind, I asked my students which they preferred: pork or beef. Four said pork, and only one boy said beef. I suppose that is the answer I should have expected.

Today’s bread was made with 黒糖, or “black sugar” (ie: brown sugar). I don’t know what kind because it didn’t say on the lunch menu. But the most famous place in Japan for brown sugar is Okinawa. This is unsurprising, given the history of sugar in Japan. If I remember correctly, for a long while Japan did not have the technology to process sugar, but when they finally borrowed it the only place that could really grow sugarcane was Okinawa and Kagoshima. In modern times, a lot of sugar comes from sugar beets, but it doesn’t taste as good. Seriously, it doesn’t. It has this yucky sticky feel that Okinawan/Hawaiian sugarcane sugar lacks. So I recommend Okinawan or (of course) Hawaiian sugar. Finally, here is picture of the delicious Okinawan Brown Sugar Warabi Mochi that my tea teacher gave me last week. Yum! Yum!

  • ポトフ
  • クリームツナスパゲッティ
  • 豚肉ヒレカツ
  • 黒糖パン
  • 牛乳
About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

