Halloween Soup

October 29th, Monday:

  • Miso Soup (Daikon Radish, Carrot)
  • Miso Simmered Cabbage and Potatoes (Cabbage, Potatoes, Carrots, Pork)
  • Japanese-Style Meat Dumplings
  • Rice
  • Milk
  • Kcal: 786

The history of milk in Japan is old, extending about 1400 years ago. It was treated as a precious medicine, and it’s high nutritional value was known from old.

This weekend was the annual community Halloween party we hold in conjunction with the public library. Unfortunately  I caught a cold and felt rather poorly, but that aside it was a nice success. In the morning we had carnival style games, including ring toss, bean bag toss, a relay racing game, and shooting gallery, as well as a table for colouring and origami. Before lunch we had the costume parade, which prizes for everyone who dressed up, and in the afternoon, the haunted house. The haunted house has become really popular, with too many kids wanting to go through than we have time for. That being said, it was quite scary with a lot of kids breaking into tears and wails. I enjoy the haunted house the most because as a ghost it means I can dress up in historical clothing and practice my classical Japanese. And really, that is the sort of thing I like to do.

Relatedly, I noticed an interesting thing about some of the children’s reactions. The younger kids, if overly frightened merely cry, but often the older kids, when frightened would close their eyes and say 「ごんなさい!許してください!!」or “I’m so sorry! Please forgive me!!” I was wondering why they might say that to ghost. I think it is an unconsious reaction of theirs, but my theory is it is due to the influence of buddhism, specifically, the concept of karma. Maybe they feel the ghosts are punishing them for some sort of bad deeds in their past life.

That said, I did have a couple sweet little girls who politely asked my ghost persona for directions as well as kindly trying to address her obvious distress. うれしゅうございます<3

Our theme this year was “Spirited Away.”

みそ汁
キャベツとじゃが芋のみそ煮
和風肉団子
ごはん
牛乳

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

