Tatsuta Marlin

November 26th, Monday:

  • Miso Soup (Cabbage, Carrot, Tamogi Mushroom)
  • Simmered Pork and Daikon (Pork, Daikon, Konnyaku, Shiitake Mushroom)
  • Tatsuta Marlin
  • Rice
  • Milk
  • Kcal: 852

Marlin appeared in the American novelist Earnest Hemingway’s book “The Old Man and the Sea”. With lots of calcium, it helps our bodies get rid of excess sodium.

I feel so tired. I want to stop being ill. Anyway, today’s lunch was better than I expected. Tatsuta is way of frying fish after flavouring it with shoyu and coating it in starch. I think you can catch marlin in my hometown, but only by going out on a boat, so my family didn’t eat it so much. I think the name tatsuta comes from a certain harvest goddess, but I am not sure.

I wanted to mention that last week, I brought pictures of “Three Great Beauties of the World” to show my students. I asked them to vote on who they felt was most beautiful (not based on the pictures I brought, but on their own conception). Cleopatra won majority of votes, followed by the Japanese beauty Ono no Komachi with about 30%. The poor Chinese beauty, Yang Guifei, didn’t get any votes in either of my classes. It wasn’t what I expected, so I was surprised.

I was re-watching Ryoma-den the other night and one episode is called “Oni no Komachi”, which I missed last time. Oni means “ogre” and referred to the beautiful but harsh woman who was an expert at kendo named Chiba Sana (千葉佐那).

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

