Chinese Spring Roll

December 6th, Thursday:

  • Yakisoba (Pork, Sausage, Carrot, Bean Sprout, Cabbage, Onion, Shrimp)
  • Milk
  • Chinese Spring Roll
  • Grade Jelly
  • Kcal: 780

Bean sprouts were eaten about 350 to 400 years ago in the North-eastern area and the Kyushu area. They started to be eaten through out all of Japan starting from the Taisho era.

When I was a student, my favourite school lunch was a sort of ramen like dish called Saimen. However, sometime during intermediate school, they stopped serving it and replaced it with a yakisoba like dish made with saimen noodles and a lot of bean sprouts. I dearly loved proper saimen, so this was quite a betrayal to me. For that reason, I still harbor a grudge against bean sprouts in my heart. But actually they are quite tasty.

焼きそば
牛乳
中華春巻き
ぶどうゼリー

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

One response to “Chinese Spring Roll

  1. “I still harbor a grudge against bean sprouts in my heart.” Excellent expression . . .made me smile!

    I no like ‘dem bean sprout neither!

Leave a Reply

