Stranger’s Dish

January 23rd, Wednesday:

DSCN4227

  • Stranger’s Dish (Pork, Egg, Onion, Green Onion, Bamboo Shoot, Shimeji Mushroom)
  • Milk
  • Miso Soup (Chinese Cabbage, Carrot, Bean Curd)
  • Sweet Wine-Dried Herring
  • Kcal: 835

Everyone, are you careful about using your chopsticks? Chopsticks (hashi) are a bridge (hashi) between ourselves and food, so using chopsticks well is fundamental to good table manners. Let’s be careful about correctly holding our chopsticks.

Today’s miso soup was really lovely. It had a mild taste with the neutral tasting cabbage and carrots, with lots of bean curd to make it taste delicious. As I’ve mentioned before, Stranger’s Dish is in contrast to Mother and Child Dish (Oyakodon) It has the same ingredients, except it uses pork instead of chicken. Pork, unlike chicken, is no “mother” to egg.

Today, I had a sort of interview test with my students. Especially at the school I went to today, the students are really very sweet, but also quite shy and don’t talk so much. So getting to talk to the students one on one in a structured setting like that was nice. But actually, such interview tests are only recently becoming common.

Japan is a land of tests. Most tests in Japan test not only material of a certain subject, but also one’s ability to study. This is because most tests use only material from a published study guide. Unlike American tests such as the GRE or SAT or FSOT, if you devote the proper amount of time to studying the study guide, there will be no surprises on such a test in Japan. Japanese tests are sometimes criticized as being unrealistic because of this, but actually, I rather prefer it. I suspect it is the only way to make a truly fair test. This Friday, I will take the Kanji Kantei, a sort of test about chinese characters. Because I studied the study guide a lot, I feel confident I will pass. Although actually, I am only taking Level 6, which is still Elementary School level. (・x ・)

  • 他人丼
  • 牛乳
  • みそ汁
  • にしんみりん干し
About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

3 responses to “Stranger’s Dish

  1. milkljapan

    I like the way you think about “hashi”s:) Miso soup today sounds so tasty! I like small tofu in some miso soup(^^)/ 美味♪

    • tenmen

      It is a very good image of chopsticks being a bridge between us and food. But I can’t claim the idea myself: the part in italics is translated from the lunch menu. But I like the image a lot too! Tofu is really delicious in miso soup. But it is hard to decide my favourite gu. Do you have a favourite ingredient for soup?

  2. milkljapan

    Sorry for my late reply… My favorite “gu” in miso soup are “tofu” (cut in small piece), “small green onion” (小ねぎ), and “beaten egg” mmm, I wanna have it nooow (^o^)/

Leave a Reply

