Goa’uld Salad

January 28th, Monday:

DSCN4271

  • Miso Soup (Onion, Carrot, Cabbage)
  • Spinache and Jaco Salmon Salad (Salmon, Spinach, Chinese Cabbage)
  • Japanese-style Meatball
  • Rice
  • Milk
  • Kcal: 694

Meat contains lots of protein which we need to build our muscles and bones. It cannot be done without to make a healthy body while we are growing. It also is useful for recovering from fatigue and preventing anemia.

I don’t really eat meat (outside of school lunch), so obviously I don’t really see its necessity in one’s diet. In fact I grew up not eating meat (pork and beef, but we ate chicken), and haven’t suffered worse for it. Actually, I am a little short for a haole person, but that is a fact which ① I am immensely grateful for and ② is probably genetic because my grandmother and aunt are both shorter than I. That said, some source of protein is important.

Something I am concerned about is the unsustainablity of the modern world’s eating habits. This includes eating so much meat, over eating in general, eating non local/out of season foods, and throwing away uneaten but still perfectly good foods.

For this reason, I feel really bad that not only did I leave half my rice uneaten as usual (for I really can’t eat that much food!) but also hardly touched my Spinach Jaco Salad, for the merely selfish reason of I hate Jaco. Now, Jaco look weird and have a strong taste, but that would not be enough of a detest them as I do. The true reason I hate Jaco–and I think this is a very good reason and one that fully justifies my reluctance to put them anywhere near my mouth–is that they look like goa’uld.

Goa’uld are lovely little parasite aliens that enter their hosts through the mouth or neck and burrow themselves into the brain. My Japanese students may be innocently unaware of these malicious creatures and therefore able to stomach mouthfuls of goa’uld like Jaco… but I cannot. The psychological strain is simply too much. And if you compare the photoes below, you too will begin to wonder how long the Japanese will remain free from the Goa’ulds parasitic control.

Goa'uld Parasite

Goa’uld Parasite

Goa'uld Babies

Goa’uld Babies

Actually, I have a theory. The Japanese started eating Jaco goa’uld babies long ago in order to develop a resistance against full grown goa’uld parasitism, and that is reason the host of the only Japanese-ish goa’uld overlord is clearly not of Japanese descent:

Goa'uld Overlord "Amaterasu"

Goa’uld Overlord “Amaterasu”

みそ汁
小松菜とジャコの鮭そぼろあえ
和風肉団子
ごはん
牛乳

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

Leave a Reply

