Sayounara

March 22nd, Friday:

DSCN4374

  • Dumpling Egg Drop Soup (Egg, Shrimp Dumplings, Spinach, Carrot)
  • Western-Simmered Potatoes and Bacon (Potato, Bacon, Onion, Edamame)
  • Bread Chicken and Cheese
  • Rice
  • Milk
  • Kcal: 889

Today is the last lunch of the school year. Everyone, were you able to eat at least a little of bit of even foods you hate? Looking back over the year, try looking for areas in which you have grown!

Today is the last day of the school year. For that reason I didn’t eat school lunch. I considered posting a picture of the bento I brought instead, but given that it was nearly exactly what I ate last Monday, I thought this picture of sweet Spring sake I drank the other day was nicer.

I started this blog a year ago with the goal of translating with photographs the school lunch I ate everyday for a full year. I have learned a lot through thinking about and eating school lunch: trying new foods, considering the implications of my food choices, and developing new likes! I hope my dear readers could enjoy seeing a little bit of my daily life and reading my ramblings about school life in Japan.

Posting nearly everyday was a difficult task though, with a busy schedule, so while I will still be eating school lunch next year, I won’t continue posting everyday. However, I wonder is there anything you would like to read about or see pictures of relating to food and Japan?

しゅうまいかき玉汁
じゃが芋とベーコンの洋風煮込み
チーズチキンカツ
ごはん
牛乳

About Motowori

黄心梅がうまいぞ!

2 responses to “Sayounara

  1. I enjoyed the smaller updates with insight into how these meals reflected the larger culture. Very interesting to see the different approaches to food from a standpoint of genuine enjoyment rather than the typical “Look at this weird thing!” style of writing.

    I hope you continue in the future, as much as time allows.

  2. Scott Lawson

    I agree with @adam_gurno about how the food relates to culture and history. I like the insights into how the food is prepared as well, if it is made with old or new techniques or styles of ingredients. I hope you will continue, too, and maybe expand to general (out-of-school) food information . . . how households prepare and share food or go out to eat, etc. You photographs are beautifully setup and shot, too, thanks for those!!

Leave a Reply

